Bob Ryan joins ‘inspirations’ Jim Murray and Frank Deford as this year’s Red Smith Award winner

Congratulations to Bob Ryan for winning the APSE’s biggest award.

From Joe Sullivan’s write-up on the APSE site:

Now Ryan is also a Red Smith Award winner, chosen as the 2015 recipient by members of APSE and presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to sports journalism.

 “I’m looking at the list of names (who’ve won the Red Smith Award), and it’s thrilling and humbling to be included among them,’’ said Ryan. “It’s everything I would ever have wanted to do in this business, to think I’d have my name associated with those people.

 “There were two particular inspirations in Jim Murray and Frank Deford. And I’m thrilled to be joining a beloved colleague in Bud Collins, of course.’’


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *