Comcast SportsNet Sports Awards makes big winner out of March of Dimes

I want to give special mention to a special event in Chicago. Thursday is the annual Comcast SportsNet Sports Awards.

The event honors the top athletes in Chicago. The big winner, though, is the March of Dimes, which receives the proceeds of this event.

Now celebrating its 25th year, the event has raised more than $11 million for the March of Dimes. This year’s headliners features Ernie Banks, Frank Thomas, Otis Wilson, Bob Love, and many others.

However, the highlight of the evening always is the presentation of the Inspirational Athlete Award.

A shout out to long-time producer Mike Leiderman, Bill Barry and his crew at the March of Dimes, and Jim Corno, Jeff Nuich and the CSN Chicago staff, who work tirelessly on the event. Due to a Blackhawks game, the dinner will air Thursday at 11 p.m., Central. Be sure to set your DVR if you can’t stay up late. The show also will air again Sunday at 11 p.m.Central.

Here are the details from CSN:

WHAT:  An impressive line-up of Chicago’s best-known current and legendary professional athletes will take center stage to receive honors at the 25th Annual Comcast SportsNet Sports Awards presented by BlueCross BlueShield of Illinois.

WHEN:  Thursday, January 24, 2013

Reception (5:00 PM) — Dinner (6:30 PM) — Awards Ceremony (7:30 PM) — CSN air time (11:00 PM)

WHERE:  Hilton Chicago (International Ballroom), 720 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL

HOST:  David Kaplan

HONOREES:  The honorees chosen are top athletes from Chicago’s professional teams who have made considerable contributions to their teams and the Chicago community. This year’s honorees include:

Richard “Rip” Hamilton (Bull of the Year)    Bob Love (Bulls Legend)

Dave Bolland (Blackhawk of the Year)          Eddie Olczyk (Blackhawks Legend)

Darwin Barney (Cub of the Year)                  Ernie Banks (Cubs Legend)

Chris Sale (White Sox of the Year)                Frank Thomas (White Sox Legend)

Roberto Garza (Bear of the Year)                  Otis Wilson (Bears Legend)

Patrick Nyarko (Fire of the Year)                   Frank Klopas (Fire Legend)

Connor McHugh (Inspirational Athlete Award)

PRESENTERS:          Chris Boden                David Kaplan

      Susannah Collins        Stacey King

      Gail Fischer                 John Mullin

      Chuck Garfien             Mark Schanowski                   



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *